Lindisfarne Discography - Blues From the Bothy (1997)

Blues From the Bothy (1997)


  1. Coming Home To You
  2. Refugees
  3. Knackers Yard Blues
  4. Ardnamurchan Dave Denholm


  • ROD CLEMENTS Dobro, Mandolin,Vocals
  • RAY LAIDLAW Drums, Percussion
  • MARTY CRAGGS Vocals, Flute. Harmonica, Whistle, Accordion
  • DAVE DENHOLM Acoustic 6, 12 and Hi-String Guitars, Vocals
  • IAN THOMSON Acoustic Bass, Vocals
  • BILLY MITCHELL Vocals, Acoustic Guitars, Mandolin

Album Cover Info

Blues From The Bothy was the first new studio recording from Lindisfarne since 1994.

In June 97 they travelled to a secluded recording studio in the highlands of Scotland to put down the first studio recordings by the current line up. The resulting 4-track CD/EP reflects the extent to which the writing and performing of the band has returned to its earthy roots, whilst highlighting the band's influences, not only in rock and pop, but also the blues and folk that launched Lindisfarne twenty eight years ago.

Coming Home To You, the lead track is a rolling, bluesy, love song, featuring a rich, warm vocal from Billy Mitchell. It's a song which sounds as much at home on daytime radio as it does late at night. In short - a made to measure classic.

Refugees, another memorable Rod Clements composition, which has developed through live performances over the last six months and has become a firm favourite with the audiences.

Knackers Yard Blues (revisited), original released in 1970 as the 'B'-Side of their first single 'Clear White Light'. Now it got a 'face lift' with a new chorus and some blistering harmonica from Marty Craggs.

Ardnamurchan, an instrumental by Dave Denholm, was inspired by the Celtic splendour of the Western Highlands of Scotland. With some evocative slide guitar and haunting whistle, this musical piece provides a fitting climax.

Released 4th August, 1997


Thanks to Nick and Julie Turner at Watercolour Music, Ardgour, Scotland.

Design by Grip - Digital Artwork by alt.media